Spotlight on strangers: Questions with...

Spotlight on Strangers: Questions with Katia from Sicily (living in Rome)

I started interviewing strangers when I was in Barcelona in the summer of 2012 because I thought people should give more attention to the person sitting next to them instead of reading gossip magazines about celebrities.
When I came back to Holland I didn’t continue the interviews for some strange reason. I did have the most interesting conversations with strangers on a daily basis but kept those to myself.
During the end of 2012 I went to Rome to visit a friend. While I was there my friend had exams, so during the day she had to be at her University. Therefore I was basically wandering the streets of Rome by myself. Which I didn’t mind at all. Rome is such a wonderful place. It’s unbelievable!
One day when I was walking from the Vatican back to Rome, I saw a little café with a beautiful sign on the door which caught my attention immediately:
IMG_3427
I really liked the quote and decided to interview the young lady working there.  Her name is Katia. It was such a good conversation. She was very kind and I love her spirit and way of life. Even though this interview took place a while ago, I still want to share it with you.
Here are her answers to my questions:
1. What was the first thing you thought about when you woke up?
Every time I wake up, I think positive things and try to create positive energy and relax.
2. What is your current occupation?
I am the co-owner of this café and also working in cinema. I am a freelance production coordinator.
3. What did you want to do when you were younger?
I wanted to travel the world. The only thing I needed was my passport and a suitcase.
4. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
Not sure, probably back in Sicily where I am originally from.
5. Which song have you been listening to a lot in the past few days?
Ilaria Graziano & Francsco Forni – Lastrada


6.  If you had all the time and money in the world what would you do?
I’d go to Buenos Aires, Argentina. I really want to visit that place.
7. Who/What inspires you in life?
I get inspiration from myself.
8. What is your favorite quote?
Non rinunciare”My father said this a lot. It means “Don’t give up“. 
9. What is your favorite book?
Travesuras de la niña mala” by Mario Vargas Llosa
10. What is your message to the world?
The sign you saw at the door. That’s my philosophy in life. Also do what you like with a lot of love, that is the important ingredient while doing things.

IMG_3434

Leave a Reply

