Music · Songs

Three Kendrick Lamar remakes you might like: MKS (Sugababes) – Lay down in Swimming Pools || Elli Ingram – Poetic Justice || Sid Sriram – Sing About me

1. MKS (Sugababes) – Lay down in Swimming Pools


I will start off with the comeback that I didn’t expect at all. Sugababes reuniting in their original lineup with Mutya Buena, Keisha Buchanan and Siobhán Donaghy! I still cannot believe it.
If you are from Europe or the UK then you must know the impact Sugababes had when they released their first single. They always had such beautiful harmonies and sounded nothing like the typical girl group from back then.
I was extremely bummed when they split up, so their comeback is something that I welcome with open arms. To give us an idea of how they sound now, they have decided to share their remake of Kendrick’s ‘Swimming Pools (Drank)’ song.
I am glad they chose this track and you can hear what makes them such a good group. The beautiful harmonies are present and the solo parts are lovely. What a great choice they’ve made by remaking this track.
Take a listen and see if you share my opinion:

2. Elli Ingram – Poetic Justice


This song was posted by my friend Cynthia on her Facebook and whenever she posts music I can be sure it’s something good. Elli Ingram’s interpretation of ‘Poetic Justice’ is magnificentshe manages to make the song her own. It’s such a pleasure to listen to this talented lady. I have never listened to her other tracks, but I will make sure that I won’t miss any of her new releases. Check out Elli’s version of ‘Poetic Justice’ right here:

This song also has a nice video clip to go with it:

3. Sid Sriram – Sing About Me

The last remake on my list is one that was released today by Sid Sriram. I really enjoy all of his videos and have been a fan for quite a while. He has chosen a great song by Kendrick Lamar called ‘Sing about me‘ and given it a very different vibe, with just him singing and Warryn Campbell playing the piano. Have a listen:

Leave a Reply

