French Movies

French Movies: Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (Amélie)

Amelie_poster

The day after watching La Haine I wanted to watch another French movie. I realized that I never had seen the movie “Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain (Amélie)” so it was about time I gave it a try. I’ve only listened to the soundtrack a lot because it was such a masterpiece by composer Yann Tiersen. After watching the movie, the soundtrack became even more perfect. The music really adds something special to it. I can easily write a whole post about it but I won’t. Just listen to the soundtrack and you will understand why I love it so much.
Surely a movie with such a soundtrack couldn’t disappoint. Very different vibe than La Haine of course, but they do have one thing in common and that’s Mathieu Kassovitz (the director of La Haine). He plays the male lead in this movie.
Amélie is directed by the talented Jean-Pierre Jeunet. It’s about a shy waitress who is trying to make everybody around her feel better. This character has such pure goodness in her, that it’s impossible for the viewer not to like her. I’ve watched this movie with a smile from beginning to the end. Amélie is good at making others feel better but when it comes to her own happiness her shyness takes the lead. Specially when she meets someone she really likes.
It was simply amazing to watch how her (lovely) story would turn out. The way it was filmed was great and different from anything I’ve seen before. It gives attention to the simple and small things in life which we often forget.
I think there are a lot of people who are a bit like Amélie in this world, making the people they love happy but overwhelmed by shyness when it comes to their own happiness. I still get a smile on my face when I think about this movie. If you haven’t seen it and you need something to get you out of your winter depression then Amélie is definitely something you should watch! I will leave you with some of the scenes I liked a lot, but not too much so I won’t give away the movie:
1. In the movie they introduced several characters by stating what they liked and didn’t like. Really entertaining in my opinion. Here’s what Amélie likes and dislikes:


2. One of my favorite scenes must be when Amélie helps a blind man and tells him what she sees. This was such a good gesture, such a great scene. I was really touched by it. Rumor has it on the internet that this is actually something Jean-Pierre Jeunet saw happen in Paris and got inspired by it:

3. Little Amélie with her father and mother:

Amélie on IMDb.

amelie

Leave a Reply

