French Movies

French Movies: La Haine

Haine
This weekend I somehow managed to watch three French movies. I will write about them in different posts.
First I’ll start with the movie I watched on Friday, “La Haine (Hate)I love this French cult classic from 1995, I can watch it over and over again. It remains relevant and people from different countries can unfortunately still relate to the situation described in it. La Haine is directed by Mathieu Kassovitz. It shows a day in the life of  three friends: Vinz, Saïd and Hubert. All three are from different ethnic backgrounds. They grew up together in the same banlieue where they are constantly exposed to social discrimination and police scrutiny. The movie shows the tension between young people from immigrant families in the banlieue and the police in the 1990’s in France. The three main characters share the same frustration about the society they live in but they show three different points of few one can still find in places where the tension is still present. Vinz is the most impulsive of the three and thinks violence is the only solution. Hubert is more calm (even though he’s a boxer) and thinks violence will never solve anything. His view is “La haine attire la haine”/”Hatred breeds hatred”. Saïd is the middleman in the situation, all though sometimes I feel as if he was leaning more towards Vinz’ way of thinking.
The movie is black and white, which gives it something special in my opinion. I’ll leave you with some of the scenes I like. I like a lot more of course than these three but I don’t want to spoil it for those who still haven’t seen it. 😉
1. The opening scene is one of my favorite because it shows exactly what this movie is about. Using footage of the actual riots shows how real the subject of the movie is. The story told by Hubert at the beginning will remain in my mind for ever. It will also be repeated at the end of the movie but it’ll no longer be about a man but about the society:


2. The scene where Vinz, Hubert and Saïd walk pass an advertisement with the text: “La monde est á vous/The world is yours“. Saïd uses graffiti to change it from vous/yours to nous/ours.

3. The scene with DJ Cut Killer and the Nique la Police mix:

La Haine on IMDb

Leave a Reply

