Barcelona · Spotlight on strangers: Questions with...

Spotlight on strangers: Questions with Juan, 51 years old from Barcelona.

IMG_9160
When I was in Barcelona there was a restaurant/pizzeria close to where I was staying. It’s called Verona, with delicious food and very affordable. It’s perfect when you want to escape the busy centre. You take L7 from Plz de Catalunya and get out at Putxet. Everybody who works there is very friendly. Verona was my go to spot when I wanted food of course but also when I had questions about the neighborhood or needed directions. I ate there a few times but also went and sat there to practice my Spanish. Since I liked it so much I thought it was the perfect place to eat for my last night in Barcelona. During the times I visited the restaurant there was one man working there who I thought didn’t smile a lot. Since I’m this overly happy girl sometimes I thought maybe he doesn’t like happy ;).
During my last night there I wanted to take a picture of him and he actually smiled for the camera! That made my evening. After that I decided to interview him and put him in the spotlight. He was not the strict and grumpy guy I thought he would be and that proved once again that we shouldn’t  jump to conclusions very quickly.

1. What was your first thought when you woke up this morning?
     My first thought was that I had to get ready for work.
2. What did you want to become when you were a kid?
     The usual things a kid wants to be; a firefighter, a doctor, a football player.
3. What’s your current occupation?
     I’m the co-owner of restaurant Verona. I have been doing this for 24 years now.

IMG_9155                                                                           *Together with the other co-owner.

4. How come I haven’t seen you smile here until a few minutes ago?
     He laughed and replyed with a smile: Because if I walk around smiling the whole time not much work will be done.
5. How do you see yourself in 10 years?
    The same as right now. I’m very happy with my life.
6. Who inspires you in your life?
       I have two people who inspire me greatly in my life. One is my wife and the other my son.
(When he said that I thought it was the cutest thing ever! By the way his son also works at the restaurant, he’s the guy
on the left in the pictures)
7.  Which song have you been listening to a lot these last few days?
      Coldplay – Viva la vida


8. If you had all the time and money in the world what would you do?
     I would travel the world.
9. What’s your message to the world?
     Felicidad, amor y paz. Happiness, love and peace. 

IMG_9157                                    *On the right you see Daniel, also a very kind person working there who helped me a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

