Barcelona · Spotlight on strangers: Questions with...

Spotlight on strangers: Questions with Santos Antigona from Peru (83 years old living in Barcelona)

IMG_8985

This is one of the two interviews still left from my trip to Barcelona.  It took place right after I interviewed Alberto and it was about time I posted it. There was a sweet old couple sitting nearby and also enjoying the performance of Buenas Costumbres. I went to sit next to them to write down some of the answers Alberto gave and started talking with them. After speaking with mister Santos Antigona for a while I thought he deserved to be put in the spotlight. During our conversation it became clear that he was a very religious man. That’s where he gets his strength from.
He and his wife were extremely kind, later on their daughter joined us. They invited me for a drink afterwards and basically treated me as if they’ve known me for years.  My usual 10 questions didn’t fit within our conversation so this a shorter version:

  1. What was your first thought when you woke up this morning?
    When I woke up I thanked God for blessing me with a new day. After that I read a passage from the Bible.
  2. What did you want to become when you were a kid?
    A football player.
  3. What’s your current occupation?
    I spend time with my wife, Rosa,  who is  90 years old and has Alzheimer. Currently she’s recovering from a stroke (she was sitting in a wheelchair during the interview, I didn’t speak with her but she had this sweet smile on her face every time I looked at her, that’s the way we communicated) . They have 5 children together, one lives with them in Barcelona.
  4. Who/What inspires you?
    God
  5. What’s your favorite book?
    The Bible
  6. Which song have you been listening to a lot these last few days?
    With my wife we like to listen to different things but I think we listen to Tango music the most.
  7. What makes you angry and what makes you happy?
    He thinks that current governments and state officials don’t educate the youth enough and feels there is a lack of respect in our society. What keeps him going on day by day is surviving this wrong system and the way society is now. In his opinion everybody is too much focussed on money and possession, therefore forgetting  the importance of what actually matters; Family, friends, love …etc.
    He’s happy that he has his family close to him.
  8. What is your message to the world?
    “Conozco la palabra de Dios.”(“Know the word of God.“)Read the other posts in the “Spotlight on strangers” section.
Leave a Reply

