Barcelona · Spotlight on strangers: Questions with...

10 Questions with Phiriannie and Yasmina from Barcelona

It’s great doing these interviews but I got to admit that finding the time to type them and post them is a bit more difficult. So bare with me. 🙂
This one I did during my first week in Barcelona. I was walking in Parc Güell and looking for a way to get to the highest point of the park where there’s also a cross. Here’s a picture of the cross:

While I was trying to figure out how to get there, two girls walked passed me so I decided to ask them. They said they were also heading that way and we walked together. They are both from the area but never took a picture there so that’s the reason they were going to the cross.  Both girls are 16 years old, Phiriannie (on the left in the picture) is originally from the Dominican Republic and Yasmina’s family is from Costa Brava. Both live with their parents in Barcelona. It was nice interviewing them, especially because they didn’t speak English fluently so I could practice my Spanish with them.

Here are my 10 questions with Phiriannie and Yasmina:

  1. What was your first thought when you woke up this morning?
    Phiriannie: I thought I had to go to school and realized it’s vacation.
    Yasmina: Every time I wake up during the summer holidays I think about the fact that there’s less vacation with each day that passes.
  2. What did you want to become when you were a kid?
    Phiriannie: A teacher
    Yasmina: A Lawyer
  3. What’s your current occupation?
    Phiriannie & Yasmina: High school students
  4. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
    Phiriannie: Studying Criminology, living in my own place and traveling a lot.
    Yasmina: Also living on my own, traveling a lot and hopefully working as an economist.
  5. Who/What inspires you?
    Phiriannie: Can’t think of anything right now.
    Yasmina: My parents and my aunt.
  6. What’s your favorite quote?
    Phiriannie: “Vive la vida, cada dia que es muy corta” (something like Live your life day by day/ each day, because life’s short… kind of a” Carpe Diem” way of thinking)
    Yasmina: “Vive el momento, minuto a minuto” (Live in the moment, minute by minute)
  7. Which song have you been listening to a lot these last few days?
    Phiriannie:  Two Bachata songs are the songs I listen to a lot at this moment. One is called “Corazon sin cara” and the other one is “Bailando contigo”.


    Yasmina: For me it’s Adele’s “Someone like you”:


  8. If you had all the money and time in the world, where would you like to travel to?
    Phiriannie:  To the Dominican Republic.
    Yasmina: To a Caribbean Island to relax.
  9. What makes you angry and what makes you happy?
    Phiriannie:  I get angry when people compare me with others and what makes me happy are the moments I spend with  people who are close to me.
    Yasmina: I get angry when others judge people without knowing anything about that person and what makes me happy is when I escape the “daily routine” and do something new.
  10. What is your message to the world?
    Phiriannie: “Vivir y dejar vivir” (Live and let live)
    Yasmina: “Disfrutar de la vida, que solo hay una” (You only have one life to live, enjoy it.)
Leave a Reply

