Been there, saw that

Been there, saw that: Jesse Boykins, Y’akoto & Nneka @ Paradiso 27/11

On Sunday the 27th of November I went to the Paradiso (Amsterdam) for a concert. The main act was the wonderful Nneka, a very talented singer from Nigeria/Germany. I was really looking forward to seeing her live after being an admirer of her music for a while now.  But before I could see her perform there were also two amazing support acts.
Jesse Boykins with his wild hair and great energy was the first act, he really entertained the crowd and showed hem what he has to offer. He will be performing on the 7th of December in Rotterdam, if you want to see what he has to offer live then you should really go. The second act was a singer that I wasn’t familiar with, Y’akoto. So I was ready for anything and hoping for the best of course. I can truly say she was the surprise of the evening. Such a good performance, she brings a very nice vibe on stage with her. I enjoyed every minute of her performance and can’t wait to hear what she has in store for us in the future. After this good performance, it was time for Nneka to take over the Paradiso. And that’s exactly what she did. Such an emotion in her songs and in the way she performed them, the crowd could really feel what she was feeling during those songs. I heard some people afterwards saying that it was too depressing for them, well I have no idea what those guys were talking about. If you know Nneka’s music, you know what her music is all about … she’s not a bubblegum singer but a woman on a mission. I’m glad I had the chance to see her live, hopefully I can see her once again in the near future. Here are some pictures and video’s of the lovely evening in the Paradiso:




Leave a Reply

