Been there, saw that

Afrikaaps was splendid!

Dear readers…a while ago I went to a play/hiphopera called ”Afrikaaps” (a Glasshouse production) in Amsterdam. I want to share this experience with you guys but really words can’t describe how lovely this play was. Afrikaaps is about the history and value of Afrikaans in South Africa. I really can say that I’ve actually learned a lot from the play. Language is very important and we all find a part of our identity and culture in our language. Afrikaaps shows the meaning of the Afrikaans in the way it’s being spoken in everyday life in Capetown (hence the name Afrikaaps) and not the way it’s being spoken on television or radio etc. It focuses on the way Afrikaans has evolved to Afrikaaps.
During the play the audience got to know the different inhabitants of Capetown and their influence on the language. The history and also the present day use of Afrikaaps is shown to us during the play by the actors, bit of documentary and music. From Goema to hiphop and jazz, from singing and rapping to dancing … it’s all there. I’m also glad they showed us translation of what is being said during the play, that way I could really connect since I don’t understand Afrikaaps. Alongside the South African cast of Jitsvinger, Blaq Pearl, Bliksemstraal, Moenier Adams, Jethro Louw, Emile Jansen, Kyle Shepherd and Shane Cooper there also were two dutch MC’s Akwasi and Def P. All of them did such a wonderful job and it seemed as if parts of the play were freestyled which of course wasn’t the case but their connection was that natural and real. I was really impressed by the talent of the South African cast, they’re famous back home but for me they were new. I wish that I went to see Afrikaaps during the beginning of their tour in the Netherlands because then I could visit the play once more. I enjoyed the way they mixed different tools in their play without making it boring or too difficult for the audience to follow. I’m glad I went to Afrikaaps, it was a play worth watching and the hard work of everybody who worked on the hiphopera really paid off.

Here are a few songs of the play, just to give you a better impression of what I saw:


Leave a Reply

